Impacted by COVID-19? Special assistance is now available.

Florida Minimum Wage to Increase June 1st!

Effective June 1, 2011, the Florida minimum wage will  increase to $7.31 per hour.  Also effective on June 1, 2011, those “tipped employees” in  Florida who otherwise meet eligibility requirements for the tip credit under  the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) will have to be paid a direct cash  wage of at least $4.29 per hour. This is an amount equal to the new Florida minimum of $7.31 per hour, minus the $3.02 hourly tip credit permitted under Florida Law.  Florida’s minimum wage increases typically occur at the beginning of a calendar year. However, this particular increase is the result of a legal challenge to the formula used by AWI in calculating the Florida minimum wage for 2010 and 2011.  Read more at: http://www.addingtonlaw.com/ under “FL Employment Law Blog”.

« »
SBDC Footer Shadow Background